Board Meeting Dates, Agendas & Minutes Board Members Board Policies Connections Newsletters MDUSD Profiles Superintendent
Adult Education After School Program Assessment, Research & Evaluation Budget & Fiscal Services English Learner Services Equity & Disproportionality Food & Nutrition Home Instructional Support Legal Department Mail Services Maintenance & Operations Measure C Personnel Services Purchasing & Warehouse School Support Special Education Special Projects & Grants Student Services Superintendent Technology Transportation Workers Compensation Willow Creek Center Contact Us
Parent Portal Bond Information College Now Program Community Portal Donations Flyer Approval and Distribution Forms Library Get Involved IB Programme LCAP Middle School Sports Permits Reports & Plans Schools Student Portal Community Survey
Staff Portal Training

News Item: Homepage

MDUSD’s 5th Annual Academy Awards event tonight will honor outstanding teachers, classified staff, and volunteers


Contact:  Ursula Kroemer Leimbach / communications@mdusd.org / mobile: (760) 705-6919


Mt. Diablo Unified’s 5th Annual Academy Awards event tonight will honor outstanding teachers, classified staff, and volunteers

Former California State Superintendent Delaine Eastin is keynote speaker


WHAT:  Mt. Diablo Unified School District’s Annual Academy Awards


WHEN:  TODAY, Thursday, May 11, 2017, 5 – 9 p.m.


WHERE: Centre Concord, 5298 Clayton Rd., Concord 94521 (Get Directions)


BACKGROUND: For the fifth year in a row, the Mt. Diablo Unified School District and the Mt. Diablo Education Association (MDEA) will hold its annual Academy Awards event, honoring educators, administrators, classified employees, and parent volunteers and volunteer organizations for their significant impacts on the lives of students and families. The keynote speaker will be the Honorable Delaine Eastin, former California Superintendent of Public Instruction and also a former state Assemblywoman.  Certificates of Recognition for the nearly 150 nominees will be provided by Senator Steve Glazer, representing California Senate District 7, and Assemblyman Tim Grayson, representing California Assembly District 14.


Students from Foothill Middle School and Walnut Acres Elementary will provide musical selections from “Mary Poppins” and “Thoroughly Modern Millie.” 


Student chiefs from Mt. Diablo High School’s Sustainable Hospitality Pathway, in collaboration with Sunrise Bistro, will prepare and serve a wonderful farm-to-table dinner.


Awards will be presented to winners among nearly 150 nominees in the following categories:

  • Teachers of the Year
  • Community Involvement Award (Teacher)
  • Creative Curriculum Award (Teacher)
  • Leadership and Courage Award (Teacher)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award (Teacher)
  • Most Inspirational Teacher
  • Outstanding Administrator
  • Outstanding Classified Employee (Site)
  • Outstanding Classified Employee (Central Office)
  • Outstanding Parent Volunteer
  • Outstanding Volunteer Organization






5:00 – 5:45 p.m.


5:45 p.m.

Welcome by Emcees – Leyla Benson, Executive Director for Human Resources, and Jonathan Eagan, Assistant Superintendent for Middle Schools

6:00 – 7:00 p.m.


6:15 p.m.

Keynote Address – The Honorable Delaine Eastin, California’s State Superintendent of Public Instruction from 1995 - 2003

6:45 p.m.

Performance – Walnut Acres Elementary School 5th grade “Curtains Up Theatre” performers present selections from “Mary Poppins” under the direction of Judy Ryken

7:00 p.m.

MDUSD Teachers of the Year – Meg Honey, Northgate High School, and Tom Trowbridge, Concord High School

7:15 p.m.

Foothill Middle School and Walnut Acres Elementary “Curtains Up Theatre” student performers present selections from “Thoroughly Modern Mille” under the direction of David Drummond and Griffin Silva

7:30 p.m.

Awards for

  • Outstanding Volunteer Organization
  • Community Involvement (Teacher)
  • Creative Curriculum (Teacher)
  • Leadership/Courage (Teacher)
  • Lifetime Achievement (Teacher)
  • Most Inspirational (Teacher)

8:00 p.m.

Presentation by Mt. Diablo High School chef/instructor Cindy Gershen on the Wellness Program partnership between MDUSD, MDEA, and Kaiser Permanente

8:10 p.m.

Awards for

  • Outstanding Administrator
  • Outstanding Classified Employees
  • Outstanding Parent Volunteer

8:30 p.m.

Closing Remarks – Sylvia Chatagnier, Academy Awards Chairwoman, and MDUSD teacher, retired; and Guy Moore, President, Mt. Diablo Education Association


The names of award winners will be available on the MDUSD website tomorrow, May 12, but can be provided to members of the media in advance and embargoed upon request.  Photos can also be provided upon request. Please consider monitoring the District’s Twitter account for photos and updates throughout the evening.


#  #  #


The Mt. Diablo Unified School District is one of the largest school districts in the state of California, with over 56 school sites and programs serving 150 square miles, including the cities of Concord, Pleasant Hill, Clayton; portions of Walnut Creek, Martinez and Pittsburg; and unincorporated areas including Lafayette, Pacheco and Bay Point. The district is among one of the more ethnically-diverse in California, with students and their families representing more than 50 languages and dialects.  Learn more at http://www.mdusd.org/.


Posted by: Joshua Wittman, District Admin, Mt. Diablo Unified School District Published:5/11/17
Audience: Homepage and Homepage