Board Meeting Dates, Agendas & Minutes Board Members Board Policies Connections Newsletters MDUSD Profiles Superintendent
Adult Education After School Program Assessment, Research & Evaluation Budget & Fiscal Services English Learner Services Equity & Disproportionality Food & Nutrition Home Instructional Support Legal Department Mail Services Maintenance & Operations Measure C Personnel Services Purchasing & Warehouse School Support Special Education Special Projects & Grants Student Services Superintendent Technology Transportation Workers Compensation Willow Creek Center Contact Us
Parent Portal Bond Information College Now Program Community Portal Donations Flyer Approval and Distribution Forms Library Get Involved IB Programme LCAP Middle School Sports Permits Reports & Plans Schools Student Portal Community Survey
Staff Portal Training

News Item: Homepage

MDUSD Outstanding Teachers, Classified Staff, and Parent and Student Volunteers Honored at 5th Annual Academy Awards


Contact:  Ursula Kroemer Leimbach / communications@mdusd.org / mobile: (760) 705-6919


MDUSD Outstanding Teachers, Classified Staff, and Parent and Student Volunteers Honored at 5th Annual Academy Awards


FlyerApproximately 350 people were in attendance for the 5th Annual Academy Awards, a recognition event sponsored by the Mt. Diablo Education Association (MDEA) and the Mt. Diablo Unified School District which honors educators, administrators, classified employees, parent volunteers and student volunteer organizations for their significant contributions to schools and the district.


The event was held May 11, 2017, at the Centre Concord, and featured musical performances from students at Foothill Middle School and Walnut Acres Elementary School from their school musicals, “Mary Poppins” and “Thoroughly Modern Millie.” Room of people


The Honorable Delaine Eastin, former California Superintendent of Public Instruction, provided the keynote address.


There were nearly 140 nominations in several categories.  (View Program)


2016 – 2017 Academy Award Winners are as follows:





Leadership & Courage

Charles Litten

Foothill Middle

Creative Curriculum

Dianna Delamain

Hidden Valley Elementary

Most Inspirational

Maria Filipinia

Ygnacio Valley High School

Community Involvement

Megan Zeitler

Walnut Acres Elementary

Lifetime Achievement

Skip Weinstock

Olympic High School

Outstanding Classified Employee – School Site

Martha Gonzalez

El Dorado Middle

Outstanding Classified Employee – District/Central Office

Anne Byrne

District Behaviorist

Outstanding Administrator

James Wogan

School Linked Services

Outstanding Parent Volunteer

Katy Robinson

Silverwood Elementary

Outstanding Student Volunteer Organization

Girls Optimal Academic Achievement Society (G.O.A.L.S.)

Northgate High School – Oak Grove Middle School

MDUSD Teacher of the Year

Meg Honey

Northgate High School

MDUSD Teacher of the Year

Tom Trowbridge

Concord High School


Videos of the finalists were shared last night.  A compilation of these wonderful videos is available at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sLi82zvNHTE&feature=youtu.be


Be sure to check out some wonderful photos from the event on Twitter (@MtDiabloUSD) and Facebook (www.facebook.com/MDUSDnews)


#teamMDUSD  #MDUSDProud

Posted by: Joshua Wittman, District Admin, Mt. Diablo Unified School District Published:5/12/17
Audience: Homepage and Homepage